31. Hinduism

31_Hinduism - Solar Plexus

31. Hinduism – Solar Plexus Chakra – Belief

The solar plexus chakra is symbolic of the sacred fires of Hinduism. The word Hindu comes from the Persian word Sindhu, for the Indus River. Around 1500 BCE, the Rig-Veda (Rig “to praise”, Veda “knowledge”) was written. The first God mentioned in the Rig-Veda was Agni, the God of fire and wisdom. Agni serves as the messenger God between man and the heavens. Offerings, also known as sacrifice, are given to Agni fires to carry blessings on paper or used to carry the soul after death. Atman is the Hindu word for Soul. Brahman is the “spirit” of the Atman.

The spirit of the soul is expressed through multiple deities (Gods and Goddesses.) Some Hindus are followers of Shiva (Destroyer God) or Vishnu (Preserver God.) Brahman is the unifying “spirit.” Hinduism is not one unified religion but a diverse set of practices and beliefs that evolved over time. Many Hindus consider their religion as an “eternal path” or “sanatama dharma.”  Reincarnation is a central belief for all Hindus. The Atman or Soul, as the divine self, is eternal. The soul is affected by karma (action). When the soul reincarnates into a human body, a person’s actions create reactions. This is the eternal law of karma, which impacts future incarnations. This cycle of reincarnation is called Samsara where the soul is reborn over and over again according to their karma. The goal is to achieve liberation (moksha) and be free from Samsara. Agni fires are used to help clear karma within lifetimes and to carry the karma of souls between lifetimes. Our solar plexus chakra reminds us to feed our digestive Agni fire carefully and mindfully.

Message: Use the power and wisdom you possess to transform your life. Be aware of your actions and reactions. Are your actions aligned with your soul? If they are not, find the courage to change. Believe in yourself and the power to take the necessary actions to accomplish your dreams.

“You must be the change you want to see in the world.” – Mahatma Gandhi 

The Hindu symbol is the mantra AUM. The large lower curve symbolizes the waking state. The upper curve is the state of deep sleep. The middle curve is the dream state. The dot is the blissful state of consciousness. A semi-circle (maya) separates the dot from the other three curves. The illusion of maya prevents the seeker from obtaining the blissful state. Moksha occurs when you conquer this illusion through yoga.


One thought on “31. Hinduism

  1. Pingback: 9. Vesica Piscis | Awaken Within

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s