32_Heart Chakra - buddhism

The heart chakra embodies the Buddha, who taught that peace comes from within. Siddhartha Gautama (Buddha) was born a Hindu Prince in 623 BCE. His father, a warrior king, sheltered him from the world. Siddhartha left the palace and saw an old man, an ill man, a dead man, and a suffering man. He feared that suffering was the inevitable end of life and renounced himself as Prince. He dedicated his life to seek the meaning of suffering. After years of searching he entered a cave to meditate on the answer. He stopped eating and drinking to go to the edge of death for answers.

A girl found Siddhartha dying and convinced him to drink. She fed him until he was strong enough to walk out of the cave. Siddhartha saw that death would have stopped him from understanding the meaning of suffering or sharing his insights with others. On his 35th birthday, Siddhartha sat under a Bodhi tree to contemplate life. When a seedpod fell on his head, he saw that he had the choice to feel hurt or to see this as a gift. He chose to free himself of suffering. This awareness of choice transformed him into the Buddha or “Enlightened One.” Buddha taught for almost 50 years until his passing at the age of 81. Statues of Buddha were created for people to remember the Buddha within them. Buddhism is a form of positive atheism as he renounced the idea of god. He believed in the laws of karma and reincarnation. The heart chakra reminds us that we are what we believe.

Message: We have the choice to let go of any belief that limits us. Look deep within our heart and see that everything we need is within us.  By seeing that we are the source of love we will be open to loving ourself and others.

“The way is not in the sky. The way is in the heart.” – Buddha 

The Dharma chakra or eight-spoked wheel encompasses Buddha’s teachings. The four gates symbolize the Four Noble Truths; the spokes represent the Eightfold Path.

The Four Noble Truths:

  • 1. Suffering exists.
  • 2. Suffering arises from attachment to desires.
  • 3. Suffering ceases when attachment to desire ceases.
  • 4. Freedom from suffering is possible by practicing the;

Eightfold Path:

  • 1. Right View
  • 2. Right Intention
  • 3. Right Speech
  • 4. Right Action
  • 5. Right Livelihood
  • 6. Right Effort
  • 7. Right Mindfulness
  • 8. Right Contemplation

If you liked what you read and want more... you may be interested in having the actual guidebook and card deck. The 134 page full-color book is sold separately from the cards. My goal is to find a publisher who can offer this as a set. In the meantime, you can purchase either the book or cards via these links. Thank you for your support. Laural

Mandala Chakra book available at: Amazon

Mandala Chakra card deck available at: Printers Studio

If you wish to gift one of my mandalas to a friend or hang in your home or office they are available in my online gallery: Ink Drop Arthaus

Photo by – Nina Riel from Shuffle Tarot.

For more information visit: lauralwauters.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s