Mandala Chakra

Mandala – Sacred Circle (Sanskrit) – A meditative artform that reveals the soul’s wisdom.
Chakra – Sacred Wheel (Sanskrit) – Seven centers that represent the energetic anatomy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mandala Chakra is a conscious and circular journey within the energetic body through the perspective of seven perceptual states. Mandala Chakra contains 49 hand-drawn mandalas that help to reconnect the self with the soul. Through the use of a 7-chakra cosmology one can see how nature, sacred geometry, nature’s elements, world belief, consciousness and infinite oneness inform us. From this perspective we can begin to heal our stories of separation within us, and within our world.

The words mandala and chakra are both Sanskrit words meaning circle or wheel. Sanskrit is the ancient language of India; circles represent both the infinite world they contain and the beginning point of creation. Circles inspired the creation of astronomy, geometry, science, calendars and time throughout the world in every culture.

The concept of a chakra or “cakra” originated when Hindu yogis sensed invisible wheels of energy within their energy/subtle body during deep meditation. The word yoga means, “to yoke with spirit.” Yogis toned vocal sounds “mantras” to improve their flow of life force energy “prana” through channels “nadis” within their subtle body. As they chanted they sensed how different mantras helped them reach various levels of consciousness. These mantras evolved into visual yantras or circular geometric drawings used for meditation. This practice gave way to the creation of personal mandalas as a tool for daily meditative practice. As the popularity of yoga grew, unique mantras, yantras and mandalas were created for each chakra. They became an easy and visual way for practitioners to connect their energy body with their physical body.

During the mid 20th Century, Swiss psychoanalyst, Carl Jung (1875-1961) was working to understand the separation of the conscious and unconscious self. He saw how the traumas of war and abuse of power had created a sense of separation between the psyche and the soul. He pioneered radical new ways to view the human psyche. Jung felt that the psyche as “by nature religious,” which sought the meaning of life and death. He believed that the human psyche individuated or separated the self from the soul, in search of its unique purpose or path in life. Yet, during this quest, the psyche’s ultimate goal was to feel whole.

During his career Jung experienced circular images during his dreams and was compelled to draw them. He sensed they were helping him heal his personal trauma caused by WWI & WWII. Jung was curious about what these mysterious circles meant and where they originated. Fascinated by their ability to tap into his unconscious, he discovered that he was organically connecting with the mandalas of India. This inspired Jung to develop his theory of archetypes and their impact on the collective unconscious. He ultimately identified trees as the archetype of the psyche’s journey to wholeness and mandalas as the archetype of wholeness itself.

Impacted by Hindu spirituality and the work of Carl Jung, Judith Cornell PhD (1941-2010) pioneered new methods of working with mandalas. She saw them as a healing art form that awakens the inner wisdom of the soul. She used black paper to symbolize the unmanifested self and seven prismacolor pencils (white, violet, blue, green, yellow, orange, red) to represent the soul as a rainbow of light. Dr. Cornell taught non-judgment, non-attachment and unconditional love.

In 2007, Laural Virtues Wauters attended her first silent mandala retreat, “The Sacred Art of Awakening.” facilitated by Dr. Cornell at Mount Madonna, CA. For five days they drew mandalas inspired by the world religions; Indigenous, Taoism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity and Islam. Laural then began her training to become a Mandala Facilitator, and was among the first group of Mandala Facilitators certified by Dr. Cornell.

Inspired by the number seven Laural began drawing mandalas that captured the archetypal wisdom held within the subconscious mind and the energy body. She visualized a way to connect the “dots” using the seven-chakra system as a guide to awakening the collective soul. She knew that seven was a sacred and organizing number that could awaken the personal unconscious. The planets that could be seen with the naked eye inspired the number seven: Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn. They were seen as the “Heavenly Lamps” or “Seven Sages.” The Greeks and Romans even created the seven days of the week in their honor. Laural saw how the number seven played a powerful role in creating a linear path that organized our circular nature. This inspired Laural to identify seven unique perceptual states designed to awaken the hidden wisdom within the seven chakras.

Seven Chakras                                              Seven Perceptual States

Root – Base of Spine                                      Natures Archetypes

Sacral – Abdomen                                          Sacred Geometry

Solar Plexus – Stomach                                Platonic Solids

Heart – Heart                                                   Energy Centers

Throat – Throat                                               Sacred Stories of Belief

Third Eye – Forehead                                    Consciousness

Crown – Top of Head                                     Soul Source/Infinite Oneness


“What a beautiful map you have drawn for the connection of all and human consciousness. Mind blowing!” – Rebecca Lorang


Laural Virtues Wauters is a certified mandala facilitator trained through Rajita Sivananda (Judith Cornell Ph.D.) She is a graduate of the Four Winds – Healing the Light Body School of Energy Medicine founded by Dr. Alberto Villoldo. She is a misa carrier working with Adolfo Ttito Condori – an Andean Altomisayok. Laural has earned a BSW in Social Work and a BA in Graphic Communications.

Today, Laural facilitates classes and retreats.

To learn more visit:


“The Tree of Life lives within each of us, helping us awaken to our true nature. Let us reach out with branches of compassion, connect with each other through our shared roots, and hold space for all to grow and feel loved.” – Laural Virtues Wauters

Mandala Chakra

Author & Artist: Laural Virtues Wauters

All rights reserved and belong to Laural Virtues Wauters

Sharing of any artwork/mandalas via the internet and the insights that accompany them need to be credited to the artist/author with a link to this site or the artist/authors official website: If you are interested in doing this please contact Laural at:

The author of this site does not dispense medical advice or prescribe the use of any technique as a form of treatment for physical, emotional, or medical problems without the advice of a physician, either directly or indirectly. The intent of the author is only to offer information of a personal nature to help you in your quest for emotional and spiritual well-being. In the event you use any of the information in this book for yourself, which is your constitutional right, the author assumes no responsibility for your actions.

Copyright © 2017 Seven Earthly Virtues, LLC


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s