35_Crown Chakra - Islam

The crown chakra aligns with the “dreams” that inspired Islam. A series of “night visits” (visionary dreams) between the Archangel Gabriel and the Prophet Muhammad began a spiritual movement that is now the second largest religion in the world. Islam is one of three “Abrahamic” faiths.

Ishmael and Isaac were the sons of Abraham. Ishmael is the elder son, born of Hagar. Muhammad, the prophet of Islam, is believed to be a descendent of Ishmael. He was born in Mecca in 570 ACE.  Orphaned as a child, he began receiving visions during dreamtime at the age of 40. The archangel Gabriel, is seen as a messenger angel in all three faiths.

At the age of forty-one, Muhammad experienced what is known as the “Night Journey.” The Archangel Gabriel came to Muhammad during the night and invited him to ride the winged horse of Abraham named Buraq. They flew over the Holy Lands until they came to the Heavenly Lote Tree rooted in Jerusalem. Gabriel then introduced Muhammad to Adam, Enoch, Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus and others who spoke of the original stories. When he entered the 7th heaven, he saw a luminous canopy of leaves. It was here that he learned of the universal spirit and divinity in everyone. In 630 CE, Muhammad reclaimed Mecca and worshipped Allah as the Lord of the Kaaba. Muhammad died in 632 ACE. The Kaaba, (Arabic for cube) is located in the center of the Great Mosque of Mecca.

Muhammad may have received this information in three ways. Islam, Iman and Ihsan. Islam is the outward practice. Iman is the inward practice. Ihsan is the practice of spiritual union with the divine. Sufism, the mystical aspect of Islam is based on Ihsan. Sufi’s seek the divine within. Islam may also share its roots with the mystical teachings of the Kabbalah.

Message: Our dreams are bringing important insights to us now. Journal them as often as possible, even if they seem insignificant. Writing them down is the first step to making our dreams a reality. Now is the time to dream big!

“None of you is a believer until you love for your brother what you love for yourself.” – Muhammad 

The symbol for Islam is a hilal (lunar crescent of the new moon) cradling a five-pointed star. The Islamic calendar is a lunar calendar the new moon represents a new month.  The star is thought to either represent the archangel Gabriel or the five pillars of Islam.  It wasn’t until 1453, when the Turks conquered Constantinople (Istanbul), that this image became the official symbol of Islam.

If you liked what you read and want more... you may be interested in having the actual guidebook and card deck. The 134 page full-color book is sold separately from the cards. My goal is to find a publisher who can offer this as a set. In the meantime, you can purchase either the book or cards via these links. Thank you for your support. Laural

Mandala Chakra book available at: Amazon

Mandala Chakra card deck available at: Printers Studio

If you wish to gift one of my mandalas to a friend or hang in your home or office they are available in my online gallery: Ink Drop Arthaus

Photo by – Nina Riel from Shuffle Tarot.

For more information visit:

One thought on “Islam

  1. Pingback: 9. Vesica Piscis | Awaken Within

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s