32. Buddhism

32_Heart Chakra - buddhism

32. Buddhism – Heart Chakra – Heart Area

The heart chakra embodies the teachings of Buddha that peace comes from within. Siddhartha Gautama (Buddha) was born a Hindu Prince in 623 BCE. His father, a warrior king, sheltered him from the world. Siddhartha left the palace and saw an old man, an ill man, a dead man, and a suffering man. He feared that suffering was the inevitable end of life and renounced himself as Prince. He dedicated his life to seeking the meaning of suffering. After years of questioning he entered a cave to meditate on the answer. He restricted his intake of food and water; and stopped eating and drinking.

A girl found Siddhartha close to death and convinced him to drink water. She fed him until he was strong enough to walk out of the cave. Siddhartha saw that death would have stopped him from understanding the meaning of suffering and sharing his insights with others. On his 35th birthday, Siddhartha sat under a large Bodhi tree, contemplating life. When a seedpod fell on his head, he saw that he had the choice to feel like a victim or to see this as a gift. He saw how he could choose to be free of suffering by changing his view. This awareness transformed him into the Buddha or “Enlightened One.” Buddha dedicated his life to teaching until his passing at 81 in 542 BCE. Statues of Buddha were created for people to see their own reflection. Buddhism is a form of positive atheism as he renounced the idea of god.

Message: You have the choice to let go of any belief that you are not worthy of love and affection. It is time for you to look deep within your heart and see that everything you need to feel loved is within you. Only by accepting that you are the source of your love will you be open to loving someone else.

“The way is not in the sky. The way is in the heart.” – Buddha 


The Dharmachakra or eight-spoked wheel encompasses the teachings of Buddha. The four gates symbolize the Four Noble Truths while the spokes represent the Eightfold Path.

The Four Noble Truths are:

  1. Suffering exists.
  2. Suffering arises from attachment to desires.
  3. Suffering ceases when attachment to desire ceases.
  4. Freedom from suffering is possible by practicing the Eightfold Path:
    1. Right View
    2. Right Intention
    3. Right Speech
    4. Right Action
    5. Right Livelihood
    6. Right Effort
    7. Right Mindfulness
    8. Right Contemplation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s