29. Indigenous

29_Indigenous - Root

29. Indigenous – Root Chakra – Base of Spine

The word Indigenous means original people. Man traveled out of Africa over 150,000 years ago planting the roots of belief throughout the world. These early cultures co-existed with animals, plants and trees as climates changed and seasons passed. Eventualy man’s curiousity led them to observe the stars at night and the ongoing cycle of birth, life, death, and rebirth played out by the sun and moon each day. Trees became ladders or bridges that provided man a way to travel between the earth and the heavens. Trees became hitching posts to the stars and the sun.

The sun guided man by day and the moon and stars by night providing inspiration for the mind and soul. The sun also helped to established the agricultural cycles of the seasons and the eight sacred directions. The ancient stories written in the stars became epic tales of Gods and Goddesses until they held more power than man or nature. The word pagan became feared. It’s meaning is “one who lives in nature.”

Message: You are being asked to ground yourself by walking among the trees. Imagine yourself as a tree connecting the earth with deep roots streaming from your feet. Feel your body anchored in the present as you reach to the stars. Release any burdens you are carrying. Open yourself to feeling loved and supported by Mother Earth and Father Sky.

“The sacred hoop of my people was one of many hoops that made one circle, wide as daylight and as starlight, and in the center grew one mighty flowering tree to shelter all the children of one mother and one father.” – Black Elk 


The wheel motiff with the four directions is a cross-cultural reminder of mans shared roots. This symbol of the Celtic Cross represents mans connection with natures seasons.

The Celtic Solar Calendar

East – Spring – Equinox – Sun Rising – Birth – Festival of Eostre

SE – Beltane – Festival of Beltane – Blossoming of Spring

South – Summer – Solstice – Sun Below – Life – Festival of Love

SW – Lammas – First Harvest of Wheat

West – Fall – Equinox – Sun Setting – Death – A Time to Release

NW – Samhain – Honor the Ancestor Spirits

North – Winter – Solstice – Sun Above ‐ Rebirth ‐ Go Within

NE – Imbolc ‐ Festival of Brigid ‐ Bringer of the Light

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s